Rock’n’Roll Circus – The Songs

Rock’n’Roll Circus Tracklist:

1. THE INTRODUCTION
2. Microphone
3. count down
4. Sunset ~LOVE is ALL~
5. BALLAD
6. Last Links
7. montage
8. Don’t look back
9. Jump!
10. Lady Dynamite
11. Sexy little things
12. Sunrise ~LOVE is ALL~
13. meaning of Love
14. You were…
15. RED LINE ~for TA~ (album version)

There is only one post about Ayu on this blog and I think I should change that. And what better reason is there than a new album? After listening to it a few times I think I can tell you what I think about it.

First thing the interludes, just so I have them out of the way. I can’t even remember what THE INTRODUCTION sounds like so I think that one wasn’t really necessary. montage is good from the middle on. Maybe I will get used to it more. And Jump!, while simpel and repetetive is how an interlude should be. They took something that’s awesome but wouldn’t work out for a whole song and made it exactly as long as it is interesting. And it really prepares you for the part of the album to come. That’s how I like it.

Next the new album tracks. Those are the ones that make me love this album. Microphone is just a typical Ayu rock track but I always liked them. And I’m not even that bothered about her English. count down continues this style but on a softer note. It might sound weird but that song gave me the same feeling as Last Links. When I listen to them they already feel like Ayu classics. Like I already listened to them dozens of times. Those songs give me hope for Ayu’s future. (That reminds me that I still have to listen to the preview of MOON…) I think Last Links could fit onto Rainbow. It just sounds a bit… rougher maybe? Just to give you an idea of what I think. Don’t look back is set right between those two interludes even though I don’t know why. montage wasn’t really needed there but I guess they had to fit it in somewhere. The song itself gives me quite some goose bumps. I love those slow songs that build up to the chorus. And with those oriental, experimental sounds it really sticks out in a positive way. Maybe like ourselves? I know I look back a lot at other albums but I look back at the really great ones which means it’s a flattery. After Jump! we get the tracks that sound like Ayu hasn’t really let go of the Next Level style and I like it. I’d rather have some electro pop than pop pop, if you know what I mean. Lady Dynamite‘s chorus is so infectious! At least to me! The song itself is quite repetetive and could be boring if I wouldn’t love that chorus so much (~kureru *sing*). Just a matter of taste. And I think it’s the same with Sexy little things. If you like that sweet voice and stuff it’s really something for you. I like it but I guess the concert outfits for this song could be ubercute. The last new song is meaning of Love and I don’t really know what to think of it. There alrady are a lot ballads on the album but I guess it’s a good bridge from those party songs to You were… and the end of the album.

After reading the opinions of fans about the new songs (because I myself stayed away from the previews and PVs) I was asking myself how for god’s sake the songs from the singles should fit on this album next to those other songs. But I was surprised. Because there are some slow album tracks the ballads from the singles fit in quite nicely. And Sunrise ~LOVE is ALL~, despite being a pop pop song like mentioned before, has found it’s place on the album after the party songs. And it’s not even that bad of an pop pop track with those little electro influences. I’ve come to like it in context of the album but as single I just had enough of this style. And I don’t know how Ayu did this but I think RED LINE ~for TA~ is the perfect album closer. It really got this thank you vibe and I’m already curious how this song will work as a concert song. Hopefully it will then also end with some a capella lines.

All in all I think this was a quite good album even though the singles forecasted something different. The Rock’n’Roll in the title is kind of justified if you keep in mind that rock always also has a softer side to it. And that’s what this album is. A great mix of Ayu’s strong sides. The rock, the ballads and one summer song. Because it wouldn’t be Ayu if there wasn’t one.

If I had to rate it, it would get a straight B. There’s only THE INTRODUCTION that kind of messes up the good grade.

As you may guess from the title there’s going to be another part. That’s the one for the videos. But it might take some time because I’m waiting for my copy to arrive before writing that. I want to include the Making ofs xD

2 Responses to “Rock’n’Roll Circus – The Songs”


  1. 1 Jin April 24, 2010 at 7:14 am

    This is an interesting look into her album. >_< What most people considered a negative part of the album, you considered positive.

    Although it really depends on the listener's preferences since some may have liked the "poppyness" of Sunrise while others found it totally out of place. @-@

    Well, very nice review~😀

  2. 2 sakurayume April 24, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    I like that you were able to find good things to say about this album where most others, myself included, have bashed it mercilessly. Good work, and thanks for presenting a review that showed the other side of the album.🙂


Leave a Reply

