The Best of 2009 (Part 2)

I just realized that I don’t know how many parts this series will have. Sure, I will post my Top Albums #10 – 6 in this post but I also got ideas for more 2009 related posts. Best Songs for instance. But we will see.
—-

#10  BoA’s BoA

It’s not like I was totally trilled when I first listened to the album. I got a few favorites that stayed but all in all I realized with time that, in fact, it is a very stable album that you can listen to without getting bored or annoyed by some bad engrish. And with what BoA is capable of by now, I’m in no position to criticize her. Can’t say my English is perfect, not by a long shot. So I keep listening to my favorites but won’t skip any of the other songs if they appear on my playlist.

Best Songs: Did Ya, I Did It For Love, Hypnotic Dancefloor and Girls On Top

#9  Buono!’s Buono! 2

This was the album that got me interested in H!P again and in idols in general. That means that this album is the reason for my now daily growing love for AKB48. Funny, isn’t it? So, a place for this album in my Top List was safe but which position? With some great singles and not bad at all album tracks it is a fun listen and live it rocks even more. You appreciate the ballads more, so I recommend watching the concerts. Can’t wait for the new album. With MY BOY on it, it might rank even higher than Buono! 2.

Best Songs: Rottara Rottara, Shoushitsuten -Vanishing Point- and Kiss!³
—-

#8  Mao Abe’s free

This lady is kind of well known on this blog. The post I made about her is one of the most seen ones here. I wish she would be the best newcomer this year for me because she deserves it. But the album was released really early in 2009 so it didn’t stick in my mind as much as I wanted it to. It’s still a great album if you like rock chicks and even if not, you totally should check her out. An oppurtunity would be her second album that’ll be released in January 2010. You will surely read about it on this blog!

Best Songs: deadline, free, Kotoba and MY BABY
—-

#7  Utada’s This Is The One

I wonder how many people won’t understand why I think it’s better than BoA. It’s really simple. It’s my taste. I listen to this album and I know it’s Hikki’s work although her american style changed of course. I would have loved another Exodus but she had to fit to the american mainstream and maybe it’s still questionable if she managed to do so, but it still was a step in another direction I liked. All the songs except for one are great and I don’t really care for the lyrics. Why should I? I don’t know the lyrics of her Japanese songs either.

Best Songs: Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence – FYI, Me Muero and Dirty Desire
—-

#6  Shiina Ringo’s Sanmon Gossip

When I first listened to the album I knew it was good and that I liked it, but more in a Tokyo Jihen way. Not as a Shiina Ringo album. So I didn’t really look at it more after the first listen and was surprised when I realized after some time that I listened to a ton of songs from the album without even noticing. That was the moment when I knew that I treated it badly and shouldn’t have gone with my first impression. The album is great, even with the Tokyo Jihen similarities. I hope it makes me more interested in the band itself. All in all I hope she still continues to do solo work but I don’t mind a longer hiatus. (OMFG, the cover art <333)

Best Songs: Marunouchi Sadistic, Karisome Otome and Shun

In the next post I will finally reveal which ones my Top Albums 2009 are! Stay tuned (or not. Don’t know if anyone is actually interested in mine at all~)

2 Responses to “The Best of 2009 (Part 2)”


  1. 1 Jin December 30, 2009 at 2:58 am

    OMG yay Ringo’s there.😀😀😀
    I like rarely ever see her anywhere in the blog-o-sphere. <_< Her music is so different from everything else out their.:\ No woman’s vocals have more flair than hers. __<
    Keep up the posts~ ;D

    • 2 PrivateLaughter December 30, 2009 at 4:09 pm

      Yes, she is awesome~
      But I understand that some people might not like her music for her voice is very… special. My sister hates it xD
      And damn, I just realized that I again forgot that her first name is Ringo and not Shiina. I’m so used to call her Shiina Ringo that I always forget it xD


Leave a Reply

