Does DOROTHY make me Sugar High?

DOROTHY Tracklist:

1. A WHITE WHALE IN MY QUIET DREAM
2. Kagerou
3. X
4. Storyteller
5. STEAL THIS HEART
6. I Pass By
7. Kaerimichi wo Nakushite
8. Losing a distance
9. Last Melody
10. Hotaru
11. Venus

I probably should be doing my homework right now but I already got my notes for this review down and I haven’t blogged in a week and I don’t even want to know for how long I’ve been talking about reviewing this album… So, here it is:

The album starts off with two ballads, and A WHITE WHALE IN MY QUIET DREAM is quite different because the only instrument featured is a drum. It’s just an intro, so it’s good because the drum doesn’t get annoying or boring after some minutes and the other good thing about the short running time is Chihiro’s Engrish. She has to do something about it. Seriously. Next is the last single before the album was released, Kagerou. It had to grew on me but just a little. I really like it now and it’s just beautiful how the E-Guitar is featured and how the song builds up till the end. And if you haven’t seen the PV yet, do so. Even if just the first minute but this affect with the crows (?) is watchworthy.
After Kagerou the second part of the album starts, which are the songs that aren’t really ballads. X beginns this part and with it we’ve reached my favorite track on the album and I could just press repeat and forget to write about the rest. But I won’t do so, even though it is a pretty kick-ass song! With the slow intro of X we get the transfer from the Kagerou to this rock song really good and than it just gets amazing. It’s so damn powerful and Chihiro is putting a lot of feelings into it. I will – without a doubt – mention it in my Top Tracks of the Year. With the end of X starts Storyteller and you could say it’s a ballad in the first seconds but I becomes more and more a kind of pop-folk song, I would say. Although I’m really bad at labeling music. It sounds a bit like a faster version of I Pass By ~Darksmoke Version~. So, I already wrote a bit about STEAL THIS HEART when the PV was released and my opinion hasn’t really changed. It’s catchy as hell and I nice change because of Chihiro’s different singing voice. And since we already are talking about “different”, we come now to I Pass By, the song I hated when it was a B-Side and in the so-called ~Darksmoke Version~. But the album version has changed a lot for me. Sure, her Engrish is still terrible but the song is now so much faster and the instrumentation is so much fun that you can enjoy it without noticing the lyrics. That was so much harder with the ~Slow as Fuck Version~. The sad part is that this song ends the fun-song-part of the album and we get to the last third that is filled with ballads.
Okay, it isn’t as bad as it sounds because I wouldn’t listen to Chihiro if I didn’t like her ballads. I mean, there are tons of it. Literally. Like the first not-intro-song from this album, Kaerimichi wo Nakushite was released as a single and not without a reason. The verses are beautiful, the chorus is beautiful, the song itself is really haunting and this screaming from Chihiro short after the middle really fits. The only problem I realized is that it lasts for almost 7 minutes. That’s really long. Almost too long but on the other hand I haven’t noticed it till when I was making my notes. So, I guess it’s a song that can hold your attention. Wow o.o Well, Losing a distance is a new ballad and I have to say that it is nice but Chihiro had better ones. The piano is nice in some parts and in general, the song sticks with the tone of the album, but I guess it’s a song that you learn to appreciate with time. Because it’s not bad but just not interesting enough right now. And back to a ballad we already know. Last Melody was the second A-side from the X single but because of X’ greatness I never really paid attention to it. But I kind of like it. It’s not a depressing ballad, if it’s a ballad at all. I’m not even so sure right now. It almost goes into the same direction as Storyteller but more with the instruments of Kagerou. You see, the album has it’s own style and I think that’s a really good thing because my favorite Chihiro album Sugar High (yes, now the title makes sense) is the same. Of course the sound is a different one but the main point is that it doesn’t jump from one style to another. Back to the songs, although the next one isn’t really too interesting. Hotaru was a single of this era and in my opinion the worst by far. It’s nice and stuff but sooo boring. And even if she had to put it on the album, why the hell did the B-Side HIDE AND SCREAM didn’t make it? It’s soo much better… After Hotaru we get to the last song of DOROTHY and it’s the overkill-ballad VENUS with its freakin’ 7 minutes and 20 seconds. I mean, I can remember that I liked it but it’s just soo long that I don’t want to listen to it right now and just will believe my notes. My notes say it’s a very good song the end the album and that it captures the feelings of the album really well.

In my opinion this was a very good album. Better than LAS VEGAS at least. I liked how she didn’t rely too much on her ballads even though she excels at them. With X on it, it could be a serious rival for Sugar High but on the other hand I already listened to Sugar High for 3 years I think and it has a found its place in my heart. But I think DOROTHY can get in there as well. Alone for the reason that VENUS wasn’t the too often covered 80’s song. So, my heart says A even though my notes and ratings say B. But screw them! It only was the Engrish intro and Hotaru that dragged it down~

*favorites are in italic

6 Responses to “Does DOROTHY make me Sugar High?”


  1. 1 Jin December 16, 2009 at 5:59 am

    oOo nice review~~~ >__< Love it😀
    Kaerimichi wo Nakushite ftw<3

  2. 2 Jin December 16, 2009 at 6:00 am

    grrr… comment didn’t get through completely. >:\ here it is again ;p
    oOo nice review~~~ >__< Love it😀
    Kaerimichi wo Nakushite ftw<3

  3. 3 Jin December 16, 2009 at 6:01 am

    omg forget it xD just saying i love her voice for ballads cause its all husky like :3

  4. 4 PrivateLaughter December 16, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Thanks for 3 comments😄
    And yes, her voice is great❤
    Don't know why some people have trouble listening to it…

  5. 5 Lvng February 8, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Did you ever warm up to VENUS? I thought it was a great song, especially delving into the lyrics.

    As for Hotaru, I thought it was easily the most boring as well, until I saw it performed live at Rock In Japan. The performance is so amazing, and it helps appreciate the song a lot more.

    Well it did for me, anyways. You can find it on youtube quite easily😛

    • 6 PrivateLaughter February 8, 2010 at 10:08 pm

      Didn’t really care for VENUS anymore because the rest of the album is awesome enough. And since I’m not too interested in lyrics that didn’t make it any better. But I’ll try to find a translation~

      And I will definitely look for the video. Thanks for the tip^^


Leave a Reply

